Capitoline Museums In Rome

Posted 19.09.15 by Leigh

Address: Capitoline Museums, Piazza del Campidoglio 1, 00186 Rome, Italy.

The Capitoline Museums comprise of four grand buildings; Palazzo Senatorio, Palazzo dei Conservatori, Palazzo Nuovo and Palazzo Caffarelli-Clementino. The first three are located on the Capitoline Hill at Piazza del Campidoglio and are interlinked by an underground gallery beneath the square, whereas Palazzo Caffarelli-Clementino is a later addition and lies just off the square. The history of these art and archaeological museums can be traced back to 1471, when Pope Sixtus IV donated a group of bronze statues of great symbolic value to the People of Rome. The plan and design was originally conceived by one of Italy's most famous artists and designers, Michelangelo Buonarroti, in 1536 and it was executed over a period of more than 400 years. The museums are mainly dedicated to all things Roman and guests can view a vast array of exhibits, which include ancient Roman statues, inscriptions, a collection of medieval and Renaissance art, jewels, coins and other similar artefacts. The museums are owned and operated by the municipality of Rome.

Opening Times
Daily: 9:30am to 7:30pm
Last admission is 1 hour before closing time

Tickets (museums and exhibition)
Adults: 15 Euros
Concessions: 13 Euros

Partita Iva: 08677101001 | Roma Termini Suites Group - Via Daniele Manin 69, 00185 Rome, Italy
Tel: (+39) 06 48 18 105 / 06 99 33 03 74 / 389 2161 273 - Fax: (+39) 06 96 70 87 30 - Email:
Powered by BookOn - facebook Roma Termini Suites in Facebook